In 1958, the Sumeire family who have owned the Font-Freye estate since 1933, acquired this large estate near Pierrefeu, within the Var region. Formerly the summer residence of the archbishops of Toulon, this property bears two names inherited from its long past. Château la Tour de l’Evêque and Château la Tour Sainte Anne. Its past belongs to the history of Provence and France. Queen Mary, Countess of Provence, gave privileges on this land to the inhabitants from the village of Cuers. The sister of King René, Queen Jeanne, the Queen of Naples, is thought to have stayed there.
Régine Sumeire, the daughter of Roger Sumeire, assures the continuity of the family work. She likes to say that it is her father who taught her gestures and care of the vineyard. The same father who said to her that he had lived a working life in accordance with her grandfather and who knew how to perfectly reproduce this model with his daughter. The passion for wine-making they both instilled in Régine Sumeire still motivates her today. She communicates her experience to her team and her nephew Pierre-Francois de Bernardi.
Régine Sumeire continues the work of her family. At the end of 2010 she started a vast project of building a new cellar in order to vinify and bottle while following gravity principles. The new cellar was inaugurated for the 2011 harvest.
Grape: Cinsault, Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre, Ugni Blanc, Rolle, Sémillon, Cabernet Sauvignon
Vineyard Size: 78 hectares
Soil: argile, schist
Average Age of Vines: 20 years old
Harvest: by hand
Winemaking: whole cluster, temperature-controlled fermentation in stainless steel with indigenous yeasts
Aging: in stainless steel